I have started, put on pause, and am getting ready to start up again, the process of working towards adding a set of post nominals to my name – not for the sake of the letters themselves, but more for what they stand for.

I decided to look into this when I realized just how much I loved “doing” genealogy – the research, the hunt, figuring out the puzzle – and I’m also of the belief that everyone should be able to do what they love doing, rather than spending their days being miserable at their job. (To be fair, I’m not miserable at my current paying job. But when you’re better half recognizes that your passion is in a different arena, a.k.a. genealogy, take advantage and follow his lead!)

Now, to do this…I could just continue as I am now.  Consistently researching my own family, learning as I go, offering help in my spare time as it becomes available to those who inquire.

This could be problematic, as I see it, for a few reasons:

  1. I simply don’t feel comfortable charging a fee for this service when I know that there is still so much for me to learn to produce quality work.  There is always, ALWAYS more to learn in this field, from how we do what we do, to what we do.
  2. Choosing to do this out of generosity, or out of the goodness of my heart means there isn’t a commitment on my part to do my best to do the work asked for. I would be doing it on my timetable, not someone elses.
  3. Those little initials after my name will also mean that I’ve agreed to adhere to a certain set of “standards”…a genealogical code of ethics.  Of course, I would never try to convince someone that they were a descendant of Charlemagne if they really weren’t, but this code goes way past that…and that’s where the extra training and education also comes in.  Genealogists actually have to earn those letters behind their names.

I’ve researched my options, and I’m thankful with the many affordable options available online, in addition to some extra e-learning opportunities through the FamilySearch website, “skillbuilder” articles on the National Genealogical Society website, and conference learning opportunities when the travel works for both Mr. D. and myself.

When it comes to the time and financial investment.  There are definitely great learning opportunities out there that are highly regarded in the genealogical community, and I’ve already completed Mastering Genealogical Proof, also known as the GenProof study group. I have already begun coursework through the National Institute for Genealogical Studies, to improve my methodology, which is where my focus will return in just a few short months, AND, eventually – if all goes well – PLCGS (Professional Learning Certificate in Genealogical Studies) will proudly follow.

~C.