Tags

How Are Your Computer Files?

I committed to doing this for 30 days, but I have to admit that this one is overwhelming, and I was dreading it…because I have really, REALLY bad file-saving habits. Like…Horrifying. To be honest, this is going to be the task that I won’t be able to complete in 5 or 10 minutes, or even in a half an hour. Although I could ignore them and keep going downhill in the same way I have been, however, dear reader, what kind of example am I setting? I’m no better than the next person, and if I were completely organized, I wouldn’t have even started this to begin with!

So, I’m working towards organizing my computer files. One ridiculously slow baby step at a time.

To start, I’ve added a “computer files” task to my Google calendar, right under my trusty “50 email” delete reminder. Going through each Top Level File one at a time, each folder at a time. Maybe by the time I’m ready for a new computer, I’ll have it done.

But at least it will be done.

I won’t presume to tell you HOW to organize your files. I’m going to do what works for me, and that may not be what works for the next person. That’s okay. There are enough genealogy professionals out there who have written on this, so I won’t presume to be one at this stage in my genealogy game.

Take the baby step, then call it a day and check it off your list. Well done!!

~ C.