Tags

, , ,

I have a decent collection of family photos of my ancestors. My aunt was kind enough to pass some along to me, there’s also “The Trunk” that has it’s collection that I’ve scanned and kept copies of, and one of the first treasured finds of my very own was claiming a box of photos someone had found at a flea market that turned out to be MY ancestors and their friends & family.

Lord knows, Grandma had also done her due diligence in making sure there were photos of the old originals that she had stored away in her research boxes. One of my favorites is a snapshot, or copy, of a photo that existed SOMEWHERE of my great-great grandfather, Charles Justice Hulbert pictured with all of his living children – 6 boys and 1 girl. (He was the father of 7 boys, however, one had already passed at the time the original photo was taken.)

Charles married Miss Florida Kerr in 1880, and they had three children together before she died in 1888, when their youngest child, my great-grandfather, was only a year old.

Charles would re-marry in 1890 to Hattie Alice Dillon and together they would add five more sons and another daughter to the Hulbert family. Sadly, his 2nd wife would also pass away from “consumption” in 1902, leaving Charles a widower with seven children still living at home.

Enter THIS family photo.

Back Row: (L to R) Homer Alonzo (my great-grandfather), Merritt Judd, Bert Banks and their father, Charles Justice Hulbert. Seated: Velma Mae, Robert Raymond, Lester James, and Walter Charles Hulbert. Not pictured are his oldest daughter Della Maud who is believed to possibly have already been married at the time this photo was taken, and his oldest son, Oscar Verlin, who had passed away at a young age.

When my grandmother passed away, I was blessed to receive her family history books and papers. While carefully taking inventory of her collection, I came across a heavy folder that had this original version of the snapshot photo copy I already had. The original photo mounted on glass that is now broken, thankfully though with all names and dates identified on the back!

(Charles would go on to marry a 3rd time to Belle (Diles) Gates.)

~ C.