Tags

I get excited when I can write about my female ancestors over my male ancestors. It’s not a “Girl Power” thing. It’s just that women are so often overlooked in many aspects of genealogy, and they can easily become lost throughout history. Tonight as I sat down to pick out the next ancestor, I looked at the male head of family, and realized…I had next to nothin’. Then I looked at his wife, and quickly realized that I did know quite a bit more about her. So tonight I have the priviledge of introducing you to Anna Bell (Linnabary) Stanley Blain Delaney.

Yes, that’s a mouthful.

Anna was born on 6 April 1857 in Delaware County, Ohio – the daughter of Joseph and Julia (Rose) Linnabary, the grand-daughter of Henry Linnabary. The family remained in place while Joseph served in the Civil War with the 45th Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Once he returned home from service, the decision was made to move west to Atchison County, Kansas.

Although her parents remained there, I believe the connection to her own Ohio roots and extended family remained in Delaware County, and also due to a lack of records stating otherwise, I believe Anna to be the same Anna B. “Linaberry” who married John Stanley in Delaware Co., 1876. They had two children, Benjamin and May, before a record for the death of John Stanley appears in 1881.

Anna (now STANLEY) married Charles Blain in 1882, also in Delaware County – making this couple my great-great grandparents.

Anna & Charles Blain
Her husband was the son of Elem and Rachel (STANLEY) Blain, the name “Stanley” perhaps being the key which explains how the two met and how Charles would become the step-father to her two children. Charles was also the great-grandson of Alam Blain.

Their marriage would be sad and short lived. In 1891, a son was born – named Elem after his grandfathers before him (3 of them!) In October 1892, little Elem would die from “Cholera Infantum”, and just a few months later, on Christmas Day 1892, her husband of 10 years, Charles Blain would die at the age of 33.

After Charles’ death in 1892, Anna remarried to Richard Delaney in 1895. In the 1900 census, Anna and Charles’ daughter, Goldie, is living with her grandparents along with Benjamin Stanley, Anna’s son from her first marriage. She outlived all three of her husbands – Richard passing away in 1913, and Anna in 1930.

Mrs. Anna B. Delaney, 72, Expires at Home of Her Daughter in Village – Paralysis, following an illness of thirteen weeks, caused the death yesterday afternoon of Mrs. Anna B. Delaney, 72, in the home of her daughter, Mrs. Arthur Martin, McComb.
Funeral services will be held at 1 o’clock tomorrow afternoon from the daughters residence with Rev. M.S. Petit in charge. Internment will be in the Paulding Cemetery, Paulding, O.
The daughter of Joseph and Julia Linaberry, she was born on April 6, 1857. She was married on May 27, 1895 to Richard Delaney, who preceded her in death. Three children survive. They are Mrs. Martin, at whose home she died; benny Stanley, Paulding, O., and Mrs. May Thrasher, Oakwood, O. Two children died.

I didn’t know where Anna was buried, who she was buried next to, or what name she was buried under until a trip to Paulding County in 2008 with my mother and my aunt. We had stopped at Live Oak Cemetery to see the gravesites of our Blain ancestors – Charles, Elam, Elem, etc…and on the way out of the cemetery, I slowly drove towards the back and was looking out over the stones. That’s when the name “Benjamin” caught my eye. I jumped out of the van, leaving my aunt and mom perplexed at what I had seen, and walked towards the stone. It was Benjamin Stanley – Anna’s son. And right next to him? Mrs. Anna B. Delaney.

I can’t explain finding it other than it was one of those “guided” moments.

Anna Bell Linnabary

 

